Ralph Vaughan Williams

Date of Birth: 1872/10/12
Place of Birth: Down Ampney, Gloucestershire, England, UK
Date of Death: 1958/8/26
Mini Biography:
Educated at Charterhouse school, then Trinity College, Cambridge, Vaughan Williams was later a pupil of Stanford and Parry at the Royal College of Music. He later studied with Max Bruch in Berlin and Maurice Ravel in Paris. At the turn of the century he was among the very first to travel into the countryside to collect folk-songs and carols from singers, notating them for future generations to enjoy. As musical editor of The English Hymnal he composed several hymns that are now world-wide favourites (For all the Saints, Come down O love Divine). Before the war he had met and then sustained a long and deep friendship with the composer Gustav Holst. For many years, he conducted and led the Leith Hill Music Festival, conducting Bach's St Matthew Passion on a regular basis. He also became professor of composition at the Royal College of Music in London. In his lifetime, Vaughan Williams eschewed all honours with the exception of the Order of Merit which was conferred upon him in 1938. His professional career spanned more than six decades, with nine Symphonies, several concertos, a ballet, a few operas and countless choral works. In 1941, at an age most people have retired (almost 70), he entered the world of movies with the score to Michael Powell's "49th Parallel". He composed 11 motion picture scores. Out of his score to "Scott of the Antarctic" he developed his 7th Symphony.

Official Website of Ralph Vaughan Williams: The RVW Society (http://www.rvwsociety.com/)

レイフ・ヴォーン・ウィリアムス映画音楽集 Volume 1  THE FILM MUSIC OF RALPH VAUGHAN WILLIAMS Volume 1

作曲: レイフ・ヴォーン・ウィリアムス

指揮: ラモン・ガンバ
Conducted by RUMON GAMBA

演奏: BBCフィルハーモニー管弦楽団
Performed by the BBC Philharmonic

(英Chandos / CHAN 10007)



1.南極のスコット Scott of the Antarctic
2.(未公開)Coastal Command
3.(未公開)The People's Land

グスタフ・ホルストやベンジャミン・ブリテン等と並ぶイギリスの偉大なクラシック音楽作曲家であるレイフ・ヴォーン・ウィリアムスが手がけた映画音楽3作品を新録音により収録したコンピレーション。ヴォーン・ウィリアムスは68歳の時に彼にとって最初のフィルムスコアである 「潜水艦轟沈す(The Forty-Ninth Parallel)」(1940/監督:マイケル・パウエル、脚本:エメリック・プレスバーガー)を手がけ、生涯に11本の映画作品に音楽を提供しているが、中でもこのアルバムではじめて完全な形で録音された 「南極のスコット」の音楽は、彼の第7交響曲のベースとなったことでも有名である。

1.南極のスコット  Scott of the Antarctic

1948年製作のイギリス映画(日本では1949年8月に公開)。監督はチャールズ・フレンド。出演はジョン・ミルズ、ダイアナ・チャーチル、ハロルド・ワレンダー、アン・ファース、デレク・ボンド、ジェームズ・ロバートソン・ジャスティス、ケネス・モア、クリストファー・リー、ジョン・グレグスン他。脚本はウォルター・ミード、イヴォー・モンタギューとメアリー・ヘイリー・ベル。撮影はオズモンド・ボラデイルの他にジャック・カーディフとジェフリー・アンスワースが参加している。製作はマイケル・バルコン。ロバート・ファルコン・スコット隊長率いる11人の探検家たちによる1911年の悲劇的な南極行を描いた実話に基づくドラマ。当時イーリング・スタジオの音楽監督だったアーネスト・アーヴィングより作曲の依頼を受けたヴォーン・ウィリアムスは、直ちにスコット隊による南極探検に関するあらゆる文献を読み、映画の脚本が完成する前に大半のスコアを作曲してしまったという。ところが、最終的に完成した映画ではヴォーン・ウィリアムスの作曲したスコアの半分以上が使用されずに終わった。このアルバムには彼が作曲した全ての音楽が収録されているが、厳しいストイシズムに満ちた「Main Titles」から、女声による幻想的な「Prologue」、牧歌的でどこか懐かしさを感じさせる「Ship's Departure」、ユーモラスな「Penguin Dance」、ファンタスティックな「Aurora」、躍動的なマーチ「Pony March」、コーラスが不気味な「Blizzard」、荘厳なスコットのテーマ「Scott on the Glacier」、ダイナミックな「Snow Plain」、オルガンの重苦しいタッチが印象的な「The Deaths of Evans and Oates」、そして壮大なフィナーレ「End Titles」と、カラフルで重厚な音楽が展開していく。ヴォーン・ウィリアムスは、この映画のスコアをベースに作曲した交響曲第7番「南極交響曲」(1953年初演)をアーネスト・アーヴィングに捧げている。ここでは以下の18曲から成る41分12秒の組曲を収録。

1. Main Titles (2:05)
2. Prologue (1:56)
3. Doom (1:20)
4. Sculpture Scene (2:08)
5. Ship's Departure (1:14)
6. Ice Floes (4:48)
7. Penguin Dance (0:53)
8. Aurora (2:54)
9. Pony March (0:55)
10. Blizzard (2:02)
11. Distant Glacier (2:07)
12. Climbing the Glacier (1:10)
13. Scott on the Glacier (2:23)
14. Snow Plain (3:11)
15. The Return (1:41)
16. Descending on the Glacier (2:37)
17. The Deaths of Evans and Oates (5:17)
18. End Titles (2:31)

2.(未公開)Coastal Command

J・B・ホームズが監督した1942年製作の戦争ドキュメンタリー。アイスランドと北海の上空をパトロールし、ドイツ海軍の戦艦やUボートを偵察したサンダーランド=ハドソン飛行艇の活躍を描く。栄光に満ちた「Prelude」、躍動的でカラフルなオーケストラ音楽「U-boat Alert」、ダイナミックな「The Hudsons take-off from Iceland」、静かに荘厳な「Dawn Patrol (Quiet Determination)」、戦闘シーンの激しい音楽「Battle of the Beauforts」、力強いフィナーレ「Final」と、格調高いシンフォニック・スコアが展開。ここでは以下の8曲から成る23分43秒の組曲を収録。

1. Prelude (1:40)
2. The Hebrides (2:06)
3. U-boat Alert (2:54)
4. Taking-off at Night (2:00)
5. The Hudsons take-off from Iceland (2:21)
6. Dawn Patrol (Quiet Determination) (4:01)
7. Battle of the Beauforts (3:52)
8. Finale (4:49)

3.(未公開)The People's Land

英国文化振興会(The British Council)の委託によりストランド・フィルムが1943年に製作したドキュメンタリー。撮影はジェフリー・アンスワースが担当している。“John Barleycorn”“The Springtime of the Year”といったイギリス民謡をベースとして、ドーヴァー海峡や湖畔地方の情景を描いた情感豊かなオーケストラルスコアが展開。

レイフ・ヴォーン・ウィリアムスが手がけた映画音楽には、 「潜水艦轟沈す(Forty-Ninth Parallel)」(1941)「(未公開)Coastal Command」(1942)「(未公開)The Story of a Flemish Farm」(1943)「(未公開)The People's Land」(1943)「(未公開)Stricken Peninsular」(1945)「(未公開)The Loves of Joanna Godden」(1947)「(未公開)Henry Moore」(1947)「南極のスコット(Scott of the Antarctic)」(1948)「(未公開)Du sang, de la volupte et de la mort, part I: Psyche」(1948)「(未公開)The Dim Little Island」(1949)「(未公開)Bitter Springs」(1950)「(未公開)The England of Elizabeth」(1957)「(未公開)The Vision of William Blake」(1958) がある。



Film Music Composersへ戻る

Copyright (C) 2002  Hitoshi Sakagami.  All Rights Reserved.