Manos Hadjidakis (Hatzidakis)

Date of Birth: 1925/10/23
Place of Birth: Xanthi, Greece
Date of Death: 1994/6/15
Mini Biography:
Manos Hadjidakis (birth name Manos Chatzidakis) was born in Xanthi, in a mid-class family, and moved to Athens when he came of age. At the age of four he began piano lessons, and also learned to play the violin and accordion. In the 1940s, he began working as a composer for Karolos Koun's Art Theatre. There, he composed incidental music for many American plays receiving their Greek premieres, including "The Glass Menagerie", "A Streetcar Named Desire" and "Death of a Salesman". During that time, he was also writing classical pieces, and began writing for the cinema, providing scores for such Greek films as "Stella", "The Rapist", "The River", "Madalena", "To xylo vgike apo ton Paradeiso", and "I Aliki sto Naftiko" among others. The first golden disc was given to Manos and Aliki Vougiouklaki for the song "The Grey Cat (To grizo gati)" from the film "To xylo vgike apo ton Paradeiso". In 1959, he began a collaboration with Greek singer Nana Mouskouri that resulted in both acclaim and awards for both. He gained worldwide popularity with his collaboration with Melina Mercouri and Jules Dassin in 1960 for the film "Pote tin Kyriaki (Never on Sunday)"(1960), and won an Oscar for his song. He wrote music for other international films such as Elia Kazan's "America, America"(1963), Andrew Marton's "It Happened in Athens"(1962), Dassin's "Topkapi"(1964), and Peter Ustinov's "Memed My Hawk"(1984). In 1963 he staged "A Street of Dreams (Odos Oneiron)" with Minos Argyrakis, which was considered a milestone in Greek Theatre. After "Topkapi", he came to the United States to do the score for "Illya Daring", a Broadway musical version of "Never on Sunday". In the US, he composed "Magnus Eroticus", for the poems of ancient and temporary poets like Sapfo, Odysseas Elytis, Myrtiotissa etc. He also produced instrumental LPs such as "The Smile of Jokonda". He wrote four books and created the Orchestra of Colours (I Orhistra ton Hromaton). His songs were recorded by the likes of Nat King Cole, Brenda Lee, Harry Belafonte, and Johnny Mathis. He also continued to write classical music and works for the ballet and theatre. He continued composing and conducting up until his death in 1994.



Composed and Conducted by MANOS HADJIDAKIS

(米Kritzerland / KR 20013-1)

1964年製作のアメリカ映画。製作・監督は「真昼の暴動」(1947)「裸の町」(1948)「男の争い」(1955)「宿命」(1957)「掟」(1958)「日曜はダメよ」(1960)「死んでもいい」(1962)「夏の夜の10時30分」(1966)「女の叫び」(1979)等のジュールス・ダッシン。出演はメリナ・メルクーリ、ピーター・ユスティノフ、マクシミリアン・シェル、ロバート・モーレイ、ジェス・ハーン、ジル・シーガル、アキム・タミロフ、ティトス・ヴァンディス、イージ・エルナート、セニ・オーカン、アーメット・ダニヤル・トパタン、ジョセフ・ダッシン、デスポ・ディアマンティドゥー他。エリック・アンブラーの原作『真昼の翳(The Light of Day)』を基にモンヤ・ダニシェウスキーが脚本を執筆。撮影はアンリ・アルカン。女盗賊のエリザベス・リップ(メルクーリ)は、トルコ、イスタンブールのトプカピ宮殿博物館に所蔵されている宝剣の強奪を計画する。現地入りした彼女は、イギリス人ガイドのアーサー・サイモン・シンプソン(ユスティノフ)を運転手として雇うが、彼は逆に警察のスパイとしてエリザベスたちを監視する役目を負わされていた……。クライマックスの、セリフも音楽もなく延々と続く強奪シーンが見どころ。ピーター・ユスティノフがこの作品で1964年度アカデミー賞の助演男優賞を受賞している。同じエリック・アンブラーの原作をベースにした「The Topkapi Affair」という新作が、「トーマス・クラウン・アフェアー」の続編としてポール・ヴァーホーヴェン監督/ピアース・ブロスナン主演で製作されるとの話が一時期あった。

音楽は、ミキス・テオドラキスと共に近代ギリシャ音楽の基礎を創ったとされる名作曲家マノス・ハジダキス(1925〜1994)が手がけており、彼はジュールス・ダッシン監督と組んだ「日曜はダメよ」(1960)での有名な主題歌でアカデミー賞の歌曲賞を受賞している。「Prologue - I Am a Thief, Honest」は、明るく躍動的でエキゾチックなタッチのプロローグで、様々な主題がカラフルに展開する。「Main Title」も、明るく快活なメインタイトル。「Up to Your Old Tricks」は、ジェントルなタッチ。「Meet Arthur Simpson」「Driving to Istanbul」「On the Road」等は、躍動的も曲。「You're Under Arrest」は、アブストラクトでコミカルなタッチ。「Istanbul」「Intrigue at the Wrestling Stadium」は、アラビックな舞踊音楽。「Meet Hans」「The Grand Bazaar」「We Go Tonight」「The Road to Riches」等は、明るく陽気で快活なタッチ。「The Spy / Walter and Elizabeth」は、サスペンス調からライトなピアノ・ジャズへ。「Uncovering the Spy / God Bless the Turkish Security」は、サスペンス調から明るい主題等へとカラフルに展開。「After the Robbery / A Little Bird Told Me」は、サスペンス音楽。「In Prison / I Have an Idea / End Titles」も、明るく陽気なエンドタイトル。最後にボーナストラックとして映画では未使用の4曲を収録。このスコアは公開当時に米United ArtistsレーベルからサントラLPがリリースされていたが、今回リリースされた米KritzerlandレーベルのCDはオリジナルのセッション・マスターから新たに再編集されており、収録時間も増えている。1000枚限定プレス。

マノス・ハジダキスが手がけた作品には「(未公開)Adoulotoi sklavoi」(1946)「(未公開)Dyo kosmoi」(1949)「(未公開)O kokkinos vrahos」(1949)「(未公開)Nekri politeia」(1951)「(未公開)O grousouzis」(1952)「(未公開)I agni tou limaniou」(1952)「(未公開)Oi ouranoi einai dikoi mas」(1953)「(未公開)Magiki polis」(1954)「(未公開)Nyhterini peripeteia」(1954)「(未公開)Laterna, ftoheia kai filotimo」(1955)「(未公開)Stella」(1955)「(未公開)Dva zrna grozdja」(1955)「(未公開)Istoria mias kalpikis liras」(1955)「(未公開)Dollaria kai oneira」(1956)「(未公開)O dromos me tis akakies」(1956)「(未公開)O drakos」(1956)「(未公開)O ziliarogatos」(1956)「(未公開)I kafetzou」(1956)「(未公開)Dellistavrou kai Yios」(1957)「(未公開)To amaxaki」(1957)「(未公開)I dipsa」(1957)「(未公開)Tis tyhis ta grammena」(1957)「(未公開)To teleftaio psema」(1957)「(未公開)Laterna, ftoheia kai garyfallo」(1957)「(未公開)Agioupa, to koritsi tou kampou」(1957)「(未公開)I limni ton pothon」(1958)「(未公開)Mia laterna, mia zoi」(1958)「(未公開)Enas iros me padoufles」(1958)「(未公開)Ola gia to paidi tis」(1958)「(未公開)Oi paranomoi」(1958)「(未公開)Mia zoi tin ehoume」(1958)「(未公開)Erotikes istories」(1959)「(未公開)To nisi ton gennaion」(1959)「(未公開)I Liza toskase」(1959)「(未公開)Navagia tis zois」(1959)「(未公開)Zalongo, to kastro tis lefterias」(1959)「(未公開)To xylo vgike apo ton Paradeiso」(1959)「(未公開)Enas Ellinas sto Parisi」(1959)「(未公開)To koroidaki tis despoinidos」(1960)「(未公開)To klotsoskoufi」(1960)「(未公開)To potami」(1960)「(未公開)I kyria dimarhos」(1960)「(未公開)Randevou stin Kerkyra」(1960)「日曜はダメよ(Pote tin Kyriaki, aka Never on Sunday)」(1960)「(未公開)Madalena」(1960)「(未公開)Ornithes」(1961)「(未公開)Hamena oneira」(1961)「(未公開)Agapi kai thyella」(1961)「(未公開)I Liza kai i alli」(1961)「(未公開)I Aliki sto Naftiko」(1961)「(未公開)Traumland der Sehnsucht」(1961)「(未公開)Alloimono stous neous」(1961)「(未公開)Aliki My Love」(1962)「(未公開)It Happened in Athens」(1962)「スパルタ総攻撃(The 300 Spartans)」(1962)「(未公開)Siralardaki heyecanlar」(1963)「(未公開)Htypokardia sto thranio」(1963)「(未公開)Nine Miles to Noon」(1963)「アメリカ アメリカ(America, America)」(1963)「(未公開)Susuz yaz」(1964)「トプカピ(Topkapi)」(1964)「(未公開)Ta skalopatia」(1966)「(未公開)Kataskopoi ston Saroniko」(1968)「血と怒りの河(Blue)」(1968)「(未公開)The Invincible Six」(1970)「(未公開)Hroniko - Sylloges apo to Theatro Tehnis」(1972)「(未公開)O megalos erotikos」(1973)「(未公開)Der Fusganger」(1973)「スウィート・ムービー(Sweet Movie)」(1974)「(未公開/TV)La voleuse de Londres」(1974)「(未公開)Faccia di spia」(1975)「(未公開)Gia mia drahmi」(1976)「(未公開)Agapite lohia」(1977)「(未公開/TV)The Cousteau Odyssey」(1977)「(未公開)Taxeidi tou melitos」(1979)「(未公開/TV)Athina, epistrofi stin Akropoli」(1983)「(未公開)Memed My Hawk」(1984)「(未公開)Enas erodios gia tin Germania」(1988)「(未公開)Isyhes meres tou Avgoustou」(1991)「(未公開)The Clearing」(1993)「(未公開)Eleftheri katadysi」(1995)等がある。


Film Music Composersへ戻る

Copyright (C) 2009  Hitoshi Sakagami.  All Rights Reserved.