Robert O. Ragland

Date of Birth: 1931/7/3
Place of Birth: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Date of Death: 2012/4/18
Mini Biography:
Robert Oliver Ragland gave up a comfortable executive position in advertising to gamble on his musical talents in Hollywood. Since that decision made in 1968, he has made his impressive presence known in the film community by scoring over 50 motion pictures in a span of nearly thirty years. He first became interested in music by playing the piano at the age of five. During his school years, he both performed and organized dance bands. After graduating from Northwestern University, he served as a musical arranger for the Dorsey Brothers Orchestra and also attained degrees and awards in music from the American Conservatory of Music in Chicago and attended the Academy of Music in Vienna. Upon the death of Tommy Dorsey, one of the leads in the Dorsey Brothers Orchestra, Ragland officially left the music business for advertising, but his urge to write music for motion pictures overwhelmed him and he came out to California in 1969 and began composing music for such motion pictures as "The Thing with Two Heads"(1972), "Seven Alone"(1974), "Abby"(1974), "Return to Macon County"(1975), "Sharks Treasure"(1975), "Grizzly"(1976), "Pony Express Rider"(1976), "Mansion of the Doomed"(1977), "The Glove"(1978), "Jaguar Lives!" (1979), "Project Kill"(1980), "Q: The Winged Serpent"(1982), "Brainwaves"(1982), "Hysterical"(1983), "10 to Midnight"(1983), "Evils of the Night"(1985), "Deep Space"(1987) and "Messenger of Death"(1988). In a bigger career of the nineties he did "The Fifth Monkey"(1990), "No Place to Hide"(1992), "The Raffle"(1994), "The Fear"(1995), "Evil Obsession"(1995), "Warhead"(1996), "Orion's Key"(1996), "Top of the World"(1997) and "Motel Blue"(1997). He also performed music in Broadway plays and other music concerts. He retired in 1999 at the age of 69.


(未公開)殺人鬼 10 TO MIDNIGHT

Composed and Conducted by ROBERT O. RAGLAND

(米Intrada / Intrada Signature Edition ISE 1031)



音楽は「シャーク・トレジャー」「グリズリー」「ジャガーNO.1」「(未公開)空の大怪獣Q」等、低予算娯楽映画のスコアを多数手がけているアメリカの作曲家ロバート・O・ラグランド。サスペンス調の「Prologue」から、アップビートでキャッチーなメインタイトル「Main Title」へと展開。その後、オーケストラとシンセサイザーの組み合わせによるサスペンス音楽「Night Shift」「On a Murder Streak」「Break-In」「Blood Red」等が連続。「Look at Me (Instrumental)」「Sharp Dresser - The Party」「Van Heaven」等は、アップビートなロック。「Stuck at the Lake」「The Chase」「Cat and Mouse」「Chaser」等は、サスペンスアクション音楽。「What Kind of Girl Are You?」はジョージ・グリフィン、「Look at Me」はブルース・スコットのヴォーカルによる挿入歌。最後の「End Title」は、ジェントルなタッチのエンドタイトル。典型的な80年代B級アクションスコア。これは過去に米Varese Sarabandeレーベルから出ていたサントラLPと同じ内容を米IntradaレーベルがCD化したもので、1000枚の限定プレス。

「(未公開)The Babysitter」(1969)
「(未公開)Weekend with the Babysitter」(1970)
「(未公開)The Yin and the Yang of Mr. Go」(1970)
「(未公開)Cindy and Donna」(1970)
「(未公開)The Touch of Satan」(1971)
「(未公開)Mr.オセロマン/2つの顔を持つ男(The Thing with Two Heads)」(1972)
「(未公開)Trouble Man」(1972)
「ドーベルマン・ギャング2(The Daring Dobermans)」(1973)
「(未公開)Seven Alone」(1974)
「シャーク・トレジャー(Sharks' Treasure)」(1975)
「(未公開)グッバイ・ドリーム(Return to Macon County)」(1975)
「(未公開)Project: Kill」(1976)
「(未公開)Mansion of the Doomed」(1976)
「(未公開)Pony Express Rider」(1976)
「(未公開)The Force Beyond」(1977)
「(未公開)Rooster: Spurs of Death!」(1977)
「(未公開)Where's Willie?」(1978)
「(TV)空飛ぶ鉄腕美女ワンダーウーマン(Wonder Woman - Hot Wheels)」(1978)
「ジャガーNO.1(Jaguar Lives!)」(1979)
「(未公開)殺人兵器サンダーアーム/鋼鉄の報酬(The Glove)」(1979)
「(未公開)ロッキー・アドベンチャー(Mountain Family Robinson)」(1979)
「(未公開)Only Once in a Lifetime」(1979)
「(未公開/TV)死の氷壁(High Ice)」(1980)
「(未公開/TV)The Girl on the Edge of Town」(1981)
「(未公開)Lovely But Deadly」(1981)
「(未公開)Deadly Games」(1982)
「(未公開)A Time to Die」(1982)
「(未公開)空の大怪獣Q(Q, aka Q: The Winged Serpent)」(1982)
「(未公開)殺人鬼(10 to Midnight)」(1983)
「(TV)ガーディアン(The Guardian)」(1984)
「(未公開)スペース・デビル(Evils of the Night)」(1985)
「(未公開)ゴースト・アーミー/怨霊部隊(The Supernaturals)」(1986)
「(未公開)Moon in Scorpio」(1987)
「(未公開)エイリアン・スペース(Deep Space)」(1988)
「メッセンジャー・オブ・デス(Messenger of Death)」(1988)
「(未公開)エイリアン・フロム・ディープ(Alien degli abissi)」(1989)
「(未公開)フィフス・モンキー/4匹と1人の大冒険(O Quinto Macaco, aka The Fifth Monkey)」(1990)
「(未公開)No Place to Hide」(1992)
「(未公開)The Raffle」(1994)
「(未公開)灼熱の甘い夜(Too Fast, Too Young)」(1995)
「(未公開)ザ・フィアー(The Fear)」(1995)
「(未公開)ファントム・オブ・ダークネス(Phantom of Darkness)」(1996)
「(未公開)Evil Obsession」(1996)
「(未公開)Orion's Key」(1996)
「ファイナル・デシジョン(Plato's Run)」(1997)
「(未公開)カジノ・ヒート(Top of the World)」(1997)
「(未公開)インモラル捜査官(Motel Blue)」(1997)
「(未公開)Looking for Lola」(1997)
「(未公開)The Fear: Resurrection」(1999)
「(未公開)Lima: Breaking the Silence」(1999)
「(未公開)Death Game」(2001)
「(未公開)Crime and Punishment」(2002)
「(未公開)Downtown: A Street Tale」(2004)
ロバート・O・ラグランドのフィルムスコアは過去に殆どアルバム化されていないが、「グリズリー」(米Truluv)「ジャガーNO.1」(Seven Seas)「(未公開)空の大怪獣Q」(米Cerberus)「(未公開)SEVEN ALONE」(米Tony Thomas)等がサントラLPでリリースされていた。


Film Music Composersへ戻る

Copyright (C) 2009 - 2019  Hitoshi Sakagami.  All Rights Reserved.