Morton Stevens

Date of Birth: 1929/1/30
Place of Birth: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Date of Death: 1991/11/11
Mini Biography:
Morton Stevens (Birth Name: Morton Aaron Suckno) studied composition at the Julliard School, and became the composer and later the musical director for such stars as Sammy Davis Jr., Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin and Liza Minnelli. He served as director of music for CBS West Coast operations and was a prolific composer and arranger for television for 30 years. He composed the famous theme music for "Hawaii Five-O", for which he won two Emmy Awards; he was nominated seven other times for his efforts on such television programs as "Gunsmoke" and "Police Woman". He contributed episode scores to "Thriller", "Wagon Train", "The Man from U.N.C.L.E.", "Cimarron Strip", "The Wild Wild West", "Matlock", "Tiny Toon Adventures" and more than six dozen other shows. He only scored a handful of feature films, which included "Act of Piracy", "They Still Call Me Bruce", "Cracking Up", "Hardly Working", "Slapstick of Another Kind", "The One Man Jury", "Wild and Wonderful" and "The Raiders". He served on the board of governors of the Academy of Television Arts and Science.


(未公開)死刑は俺の手で ONE MAN JURY


Performed by the National Philharmonic Orchestra

(米Buysoundtrax / BSXCD 8841)


音楽は「(TV)ハワイ5-O」「(TV)女刑事ペパー」等、TVシリーズのスコアを中心に手がけたアメリカの作曲家モートン・スティーヴンス(1929〜1991)。「ONE MAN JURY: Main Title」は、いかにも70年代アクション映画らしいアップビートで快調なメインタイトル。やはりTVシリーズの主題曲的なのが面白い。「The Killer / The First Victim」「The Second Victim」等は、殺人シーンを描写した不気味なサスペンス音楽。ストリングスとピアノの不協和音が効果的。「Nancy's Funeral」は、オルガンによる荘厳な曲。「Bedroom Scene」「After the Fight」は、ジェントルなタッチ。「Ambushed」「Following the Killer / The Killer Confesses / The Cop Who Played God / Aftermath」「Body Pulled from the Lake / The Next Day」「Busting the Hijacking / Killing Chickie」等も、ハイテンションなサスペンス音楽。後半の「Killer Kayo / Goodbye Angie / Big Chase / Rooftop Chase / The Killers Killed」「"Then You Killed Him!" / Wade Shot / Going After Wendy」は、ジャズ・ベースのダイナミックなサスペンス・アクション音楽で、なかなかかっこいい。最後の「Boat Shootout & Finale / ONE MAN JURY: End Credits」は、激しいアクション音楽からメインの主題によるエンド・クレジットへ。ボーナス・トラックとして5曲のソース音楽を収録。1000枚限定プレス。

モートン・スティーヴンスが手がけた作品には「(未公開/TV)Tales of Wells Fargo」(1957)「(未公開/TV)87th Precinct」(1961)「(未公開/TV)Checkmate - Brooding Fixation, - The Renaissance of Gussie Hill, - The Star System, - Portrait of a Man Running」(1961〜1962)「(未公開/TV)Thriller」(1961〜1962)「(未公開/TV)The Virginian - The Mountain of the Sun, - If You Have Tears」(1963)「(TV)幌馬車隊(Wagon Train - The Sam Pulaski Story, - The Robert Harrison Clarke Story, - The Widow O'Rourke Story)」(1963)「(未公開)The Raiders」(1963)「ムッシュ・コニャック(Wild and Wonderful)」(1964)「(未公開/TV)Gilligan's Island」(1964)「(TV)0011ナポレオン・ソロ(The Man from U.N.C.L.E.)」(1964〜1965)「(TV)原子力潜水艦シービュー号(Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea - The Human Computer)」(1965)「(TV)0011ナポレオン・ソロ/消された顔(The Spy with My Face)」(1965)「(TV)ガンスモーク(Gunsmoke - Seven Hours to Dawn)」(1965)「(未公開/TV)Run Buddy Run」(1966)「(未公開/TV)Jericho - Have Traitor, Will Travel, - Dutch and Go」(1966)「(未公開/TV)Cimarron Strip - Journey to a Hanging, - The Judgment」(1967〜1968)「(TV)ワイルド・ウエスト(The Wild Wild West - The Night of the Returning Dead, - The Night of the Vipers)」(1966〜1968)「(TV)ハワイ5-O(Hawaii Five-O)」(1968〜1980)「(未公開/TV)Hawaii Five-O: Cocoon」(1968)「(未公開/TV)Storefront Lawyers」(1970)「(TV)刑事オルテガ・影なき殺人鬼(The Face of Fear)」(1971)「(未公開/TV)A Death of Innocence」(1971)「(TV)真夜中の侵入者/亡霊は誰を待つ?(She Waits)」(1972)「(未公開/TV)Man on a String」(1972)「(未公開/TV)Deadly Harvest」(1972)「(TV)死の透視/爆弾魔を追う超能力教授(Visions...)」(1972)「(TV)狂気のビルジャック/監禁エレベーター爆破7秒前(Strangers in 7A)」(1972)「(TV)ホラーフライト・悪魔の旅客機(The Horror at 37,000 Feet)」(1973)「(未公開/TV)Poor Devil」(1973)「(TV)スチュワーデス・恋のスクランブル(Coffee, Tea or Me?)」(1973)「(未公開/TV)Guess Who's Been Sleeping in My Bed?」(1973)「(未公開/TV)Apple's Way」(1974)「(未公開/TV)Young Love」(1974)「(未公開/TV)Kodiak」(1974)「(TV)実録!UFO大接近/消えた412ジェット機隊(The Disappearance of Flight 412)」(1974)「(未公開/TV)Khan!」(1975)「(未公開/TV)Matt Helm」(1975)「(TV)女刑事ペパー(Police Woman - Ice, - Bondage)」(1975〜1977)「(TV)SFタイム・トラベル/シカゴ大火に遭った男たち(Time Travelers)」(1976)「(未公開/TV)Banjo Hackett: Roamin' Free」(1976)「(未公開/TV)Spencer's Pilots」(1976)「(未公開/TV)The Strange Possession of Mrs. Oliver」(1977)「(未公開/TV)Code Name: Diamond Head」(1977)「(未公開/TV)Peter Lundy and the Medicine Hat Stallion」(1977)「(未公開/TV)Lucy Calls the President」(1977)「(TV)自動車(Wheels)」(1978)「(未公開)死刑は俺の手で(The One Man Jury)」(1978)「(TV)超能力探偵マンドレイク/連続爆破事件に挑む奇跡の魔術(Mandrake)」(1979)「(TV)ホワイト・ハウス(Backstairs at the White House)」(1979)「(未公開/TV)Women in White」(1979)「(未公開/TV)The Flame Is Love」(1979)「(未公開/TV)Undercover with the KKK」(1979)「(未公開/TV)The Thirteenth Day: The Story of Esther」(1979)「底抜け再就職も楽じゃない(Hardly Working)」(1980)「(TV)ザ・ジャッカー(Detour to Terror)」(1980)「(TV)Mステーション・ハワイ(M Station: Hawaii)」(1980)「(未公開/TV)Fugitive Family」(1980)「(未公開)ジョーズ・リターンズ(L'ultimo squalo)」(1980)「(TV)シルビア・クリステルのキス・オブ・ゴールド/華麗なる女の闘い(The Million Dollar Face)」(1981)「(TV)炎の砦マサダ(Masada)」(1981)「(未公開/TV)The Manions of America」(1981)「(TV)俺たち賞金稼ぎ!!フォール・ガイ(The Fall Guy)」(1981)「(未公開/TV)Ripley's Believe It or Not!」(1982)「(TV)ナイトライダー(Knight Rider - Deadly Maneuvers)」(1982)「(未公開)ジェリー・ルイスの双子の鶏フン大騒動(Slapstick (Of Another Kind))」(1982)「(未公開/TV)Memories Never Die」(1982)「(TV)探偵ブレナン/麻薬ルートを捜せ!(Cocaine and Blue Eyes)」(1983)「(未公開/TV)I Married Wyatt Earp」(1983)「(未公開)Smorgasbord」(1983)「(未公開/TV)Savage in the Orient」(1983)「(未公開/TV)Automan」(1983)「(未公開/TV)Cover Up」(1984)「(TV)不思議の国のアリス(Alice in Wonderland)」(1985)「(未公開/TV)Outrage!」(1986)「(未公開/TV)Jake and the Fatman」(1987)「(未公開/TV)Matlock」(1986〜1987)「(未公開)They Still Call Me Bruce」(1987)「(未公開/TV)The Ladies」(1987)「バラクーダ(Act of Piracy)」(1988)「(未公開/TV)The Ann Jillian Story」(1988)「(未公開/TV)Circus」(1988)「(未公開/TV)Tiny Toon Adventures - The Looney Beginning, - Buster and the Wolverine」(1990)等がある。
モートン・スティーヴンス「(TV)ハワイ5-O」のエピソード「A Thousand Pardons -- You're Dead!」「Hookman」で1970年度と1974年度のエミー賞(Best Music Composition - For a Series, a Single Program of a Series)を受賞している。


Film Music Composersへ戻る

Copyright (C) 2008 - 2021  Hitoshi Sakagami.  All Rights Reserved.