Sol Kaplan

Date of Birth: 1919/4/19
Place of Birth: USA
Date of Death: 1990/11/14
Mini Biography:
Kaplan was a former child prodigy who had worked steadily in film since the early 1940s, including stints for the Office of Strategic Services and the Army Signal Corps during World War II. By the 1950s he was a prolific member of the 20th Century-Fox music department under Alfred Newman but that came to a crashing halt in 1953; the next year, he was among the blacklisted personnel who made "Salt of the Earth" (George Bassman and Jerry Fielding were two other composers who were blacklisted). He pursued music elsewhere and gradually resurrected his career on smaller productions. His feature career was only seriously revived by Karl Foreman on "The Victors"(1963), and he subsequently scored "The Spy Who Came in from the Cold"(1965) and "Judith"(1966) while in London. In the latter stages of his career he contributed memorable scores for television including Star Trek's "The Enemy Within" and "The Doomsday Machine"; the 1972 sequel to "Born Free", "Living Free" and a thriller directed by Jonathan Kaplan "Over the Edge"(1979). His son with actress Frances Heflin (1923-1994), Jonathan Kaplan has directed such films as "The Accused"(1988) and "Brokedown Palace"(1999).



Composed and Conducted by SOL KAPLAN

(米Film Score Monthly / FSM Vol.8 No.9)


音楽はアメリカの作曲家ソル・カプラン「The Overture」は、明るく快活なマーチからリリカルなラヴ・テーマ、東欧風の舞踏音楽へと展開する序曲。「Main Title」は、マーチの主題によるメインタイトル。「The Olive Grove」は、ラヴ・テーマのバリエーション。「The Wolf Pack」は、ラテン・パーカッションをフィーチャーしたアップビートなジャズ。「Signora Maria」は、リリカルでややメランコリックな曲。「Off Limits」「Magda's Theme」は、舞踏音楽風の躍動的な曲。「My Special Dream」は、オルゴール風のイントロからリリカルなラヴ・テーマへ。「Jean Pierre」は、ジェントルで快活な主題から後半はビジーで激しいタッチへ。「The French Woman」は、ジェントルで美しい曲。「No Other Man」は、ライトなジャズによるソース音楽。「Sweet Talk and Death Fight」は、ジャズの主題から後半はドラマティックに盛り上がる。「March of the Victors - End Title」は、メインのマーチのコーラス版によるエンドタイトル。様々なタッチの曲がカラフルに展開するスコア。このスコアは過去に米ColpixレーベルよりサントラLPがリリースされていたが、この米Film Score MonthlyレーベルのCDは、LPと同じ内容をCD化したもので、ジョージ・デューニング作曲の「四時の悪魔」のスコアとカップリングになっている。


「(未公開)The Tell-Tale Heart」(1941)
「運命の饗宴(Tales of Manhattan)」(1942)
「アパッチ街道(Apache Trail)」(1942)
「マーガレットの旅(Journey for Margaret)」(1942)
「(未公開)Madero of Mexico」(1942)
「(未公開)For God and Country」(1943)
「(未公開)Hollow Triumph」(1948)
「(未公開)Alice in Wonderland」(1949)
「(未公開)Down Memory Lane」(1949)
「秘密指令(Reign of Terror)」(1949)
「(未公開)ニューヨーク港(Port of New York)」(1949)
「(未公開)711 Ocean Drive」(1950)
「(未公開)Mister 880」(1950)
「地獄の戦場(Halls of Montezuma)」(1950)
「(未公開)栄光の彼方に(I'd Climb the Highest Mountain)」(1951)
「(未公開)I Can Get It for You Wholesale」(1951)
「(未公開)The House on Telegraph Hill」(1951)
「脱獄者の秘密(The Secret of Convict Lake)」(1951)
「赤い空(Red Skies of Montana)」(1952)
「(未公開)Return of the Texan」(1952)
「デッドライン〜USA(Deadline - U.S.A.)」(1952)
「(未公開)国務省の密使(Diplomatic Courier)」(1952)
「(未公開)草原の追跡(Way of a Gaucho)」(1952)
「(未公開)Something for the Birds」(1952)
「ゴールデン・コンドルの秘宝(Treasure of the Golden Condor)」(1953)
「(未公開)モンゴル第一騎兵隊(Destination Gobi)」(1953)
「地の塩(Salt of the Earth)」(1954)
「(未公開)The Burglar」(1957)
「(未公開)Happy Anniversary」(1959)
「(未公開)Girl of the Night」(1960)
「勝利者(The Victors)」(1963)
「八月の砲声(The Guns of August)」(1964)
「若い恋人たち(The Young Lovers)」(1964)
「寒い国から帰ったスパイ(The Spy Who Came in from the Cold)」(1965)
「(TV)スター・トレック/宇宙大作戦(Star Trek - The Enemy Within, - The Doomsday Machine, - The Deadly Years, - Obsession, - The Immunity Syndrome, - The Ultimate Computer)」(1966〜1968)
「(TV)ウィンチェスター銃'73(Winchester 73)」(1967)
「(未公開/TV)CBS Playhouse - Dear Friends」(1967)
「(TV)戦慄の第四帝国(Shadow on the Land)」(1968)
「永遠のエルザ(Living Free)」(1972)
「(未公開)Lies My Father Told Me」(1975)
「(TV)ゴールデン・ゲート殺人事件(The Golden Gate Murders)」(1979)
「レベルポイント(Over the Edge)」(1979)


Film Music Composersへ戻る

Copyright (C) 2009 - 2014  Hitoshi Sakagami.  All Rights Reserved.